Parish and Town Councils

DisabledGo Accessibility Information

There are 14 Parish and 2 Town Councils within the Borough of Tunbridge Wells which vary in size and capacity. As a tier of local government they are elected bodies with discretionary powers and rights laid down by Parliament to represent their communities and provide services for them. They act as a focus for local opinion and provide a way to get things done in a means that is best suited to their local community.

The unparished area of Royal Tunbridge Wells is administered directly by Tunbridge Wells Borough Council

Contact Details

Parish and Town Councils are administered by Parish and Town Clerks – their details, as well as the Chairmen's and Vice-Chairmen's, are set out on the links below:

Tunbridge Wells Agreement

The Tunbridge Wells Agreement is a document which sets out a framework within which Tunbridge Wells Borough Council and the 16 Parish and Town Councils in the borough can work together in partnership on matters affecting each individual area. It contains a number of key principles which set out in practical terms how the two levels of local government will work together, for the benefit of the communities they each serve.

Notifications of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Parish and Town Councillors are required to publish details of any potential pecuniary interests.